The Appeal Court sitting in Abuja on Wednesday, sacked Emeka Nwajiuba, a lawmaker representing Ehime Mbano /Obowo/Ihitte Uboma Federal Constituency of Imo State.

The court declared Chike Okafor as the winner of the House of Representatives seat.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared Honourable Okafor of the All Progressives Congress (APC), winner and issued him with Certificate of Return, for Ehime Mbano/Obowo/Ihitte Uboma Federal Constituency.

But an FCT High Court nullified the result of the election and declared Nwajiuba, a former member of the Accord Party, as winner of the election.

Nwajiuba was among the 43-man ministerial nominees screened by the Nigerian Senate.

Barely 24 hours after he was announced as a ministerial nominee by President Muhammadu Buhari, he defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) from the Accord Party (AP).

Nwajiuba was a member of APC before he defected to AP, because of a spat with the former governor of Imo, Rochas Okorocha.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here