… Recommends Reconciliation Meeting With Aspirants, Stakeholders

The Chairman of the seven-member Committee for the Edo State All Progressives Congress (APC) Governorship Primary Election, Katsina State Governor, Aminu Bello Masari on Monday submitted the Committee’s report of June 18, 2016 governorship primaries held in the Edo State Capital, Benin City.

The APC National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun who received the Committee’s report at the Party’s National Secretariat in Abuja thanked the Masari-led seven-member Election Committee for successfully conducting the governorship primaries in Edo State.

The Masari-led seven-member Election Committee included: Hon. Andrew Uchendu (Secretary), Hon. Yusuf Maianguwa, Dr. Tunde Esan, Alh. Shuaibu Musa, Alh. Ibrahim Soja and Mr. Amara Iwuanyanwu.

The Committee’s five-page report recommended that the Party’s leadership convenes a reconciliatory meeting with aspirants and other stakeholders. The report also commended the Edo State Governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole and the security outfits in the State for their support during the governorship primaries.

The report read in part:

“There is an urgent need for the Party to set up a high-powered reconciliation team to meet with the State Governor, all aspirants and other critical stakeholders in order to strengthen the Party and restore harmony for a successful [governorship] election.

“The committee commends the efforts of the Commissioner of Police, the Director State Security Service, theCommandant-General of the Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps and their men for the remarkable way they handled the entire exercise.

“The committee hereby expresses its appreciation to the Party for finding its members worthy of such important assignment, and pledge the loyalty and commitment of all its members to the Party and the Nation.

“The committee also appreciates the support of the Government of Edo State which aided it in the discharge of this assignment.”

According to the report, the result of the vote counts after conducting the election read:
1. Blessing Abdulwarith Agbomhere – 05
2. Charles Ehigie Airhiavbere – 11
3. Fredrick Ebegue Amadasun – 08
4. Emmanuel Arigbe-Osula – 10
5. Austin Ilenre Emuan – 07
6. Peter Ekhermhalomhen Esele – 08
7. Kenneth Imansuangbon – 247
8. Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki – 1618
9. Pius Egberanmwen Odubu – 471
10. Agbarha Justina Ebeyehi Ojehor – 03
11. Christopher Osa Ogiemwonyi – 137
12. Oserheimen Aigberadion Osunbor – 09
Invalid – 41
TOTAL – 2575

“The Chairman and Chief Returning Officer of the election declared Mr. Godwin Obaseki having scored the highest number of votes as duly elected candidate of the Party.” The Committee’s report read.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here