All Progressives Congress candidate, Rotimi Akeredolu, is set to become the governor-elect of Ondo State.

After the voting on Saturday by hundreds of thousands of residents of Ondo State, the official results was announced by the electoral commission, INEC, for 17 local governments. As expected it was a three-horse race between Eyitayo Jegede of the PDP, Olusola Oke of the AD and Rotimi Akeredolu of the APC.

Mr. Akeredolu scored 224,167 votes. His closest challenger, Eyitayo Jegede of the state’s ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, scored 132,823 votes. Olusola Oke of the Alliance for Democracy, AD, currently has 98,230 votes.

Apart from winning the highest number of votes cast in the 17 local governments already announced, Mr. Akeredolu also won the highest number of councils. He won in 14 local governments, Mr. Jegede won in two while Mr. Oke won in one local government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here