All is now set for the final stages of the annual NNPC/Shell Cup football competition organised for secondary schools in the 36 states of Nigeria.

Four teams have qualified for the semi-finals of the 2016 edition which is billed to take place at the Teslim Balogun Stadium on June 14.

The schools are FOSLA Academy Secondary School, Abuja; Government (Senior) Secondary School Darazo, Bauchi State; Excel Education Centre, Port Harcourt, Rivers State and Asegun Comprehensive High School, Ibadan, Oyo State.

According to the organisers, a draw will be conducted this weekend while the two semi-final matches will take place same day at 2pm and 4pm respectively. The final is scheduled for June 16.

The External Relations Manager of the Shell Petroleum Development Company of Nigeria, Igo Weli, said the sponsors had enjoyed contributing to the society through the development of youths.

Weli said plans were in progress to make the final stages of this edition of Shell Cup memorable for all the participants and football lovers in the country.

“We are always proud of this competition because the results are there for us. Nigeria has benefitted so much because many of our products are now super stars,” Weli said.

The NNPC/Shell Cup was initiated in 1998 by Shell and its joint venture partners. The competition has created a platform for the discovery of football talents from across secondary schools in the 36 states in Nigeria. The championship has become a permanent fixture in the Nigeria School Sports Federation’s calendar

Some of the players discovered in Shell Cup include Solomon Okoronkwo, Joseph Eyimofe, Ambrose Vanzekin, Ejike Uzoenyi, Obasi Ogbuke, Ajani Ibrahim, Femi Opabunmi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here